Provinces Sign Interprovincial Trade Agreement

Last week the provinces signed an internal trade deal that is designed to remove domestic trade barriers that have hampered economic growth between the provinces for decades. The Canada Free Trade Agreement uses what’s referred to as a “negative list,” meaning that it automatically covers all sectors except where special exceptions are limited. Currently exempt sectors include taxation, water and tobacco. And while the deal postponed an agreement to streamline standards for moving alcohol across Canada, it did lay the groundwork for talks to establish a process to help provinces and territories regulate the trade of recreational cannabis. The deal will take effect on July 1st.

For more: 

Premier of Ontario: Premier’s Statement on the Canadian Free Trade Agreement 

Toronto Star: Free trade within Canada gets a boost from new deal 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s